Connect with us

Local News

The 2023 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame nomination deadline is drawing near



Little Rock, Arkansas – The deadline for submitting nominations for the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame in 2023 is approaching, the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame stated on Wednesday.

Stacy Hurst, secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage, and Tourism, exhorts Arkansans to submit their nominations online before October 31, 2022.

“Arkansas is rich with unique culture and history that deserves to be celebrated,” Hurst said. “We need the help of all Arkansans to honor the many incredible people, places, and events that tell our state’s food story. Our state has an exceptional variety of food offerings and food traditions. Join us in recognizing their contributions by submitting your nominations before the end of the month.”

People can nominate establishments in categories that honor historically notable eateries, owners, and food-related events.

The categories include:

• Arkansas Food Hall of Fame – recognizing long-standing restaurants that help create our food culture
• Proprietor of the Year – honoring a chef, cook, and/or restaurant owner who has made a significant impact on our local food tastes and preferences
• Food-Themed Event – honoring a community food-themed event or festival that preserves a community’s unique food history
• Gone But Not Forgotten – remembering past establishments that set the table for our food tastes and preferences today
• People’s Choice – restaurants or food trucks, new or old, that keep our palates whetted for more Arkansas flavors

“The Arkansas Food Hall of Fame is a chance for Arkansans to honor and celebrate the individuals and businesses that help us come together to create wonderful memories and explore different flavors,” said Jimmy Bryant, director of Arkansas Heritage. “Don’t miss your chance to help tell the story of your favorite restaurants, food proprietors, and food-related events.”

The nominations are reviewed and taken into consideration by the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame members.

Members from all throughout the state, including historians, chefs, foodies, and authors, make up the group.

Paul S. Austin, Chip Culpepper, Quantia “Key” Fletcher, Cindy Grisham, Montine McNulty, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Katt Robinson, Stephanie Wade, David Ware, Stanley Young, Hurst, and Bryant are the other members of the committee.

Finalists chosen by the committee will be made public in January, and on March 6 in Little Rock, honorees will be introduced.

Use the hashtag #ArkFHOF to follow the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame on Facebook and Instagram.