Connect with us

Local News

Two schools in Arkansas named as 2022 National Blue Ribbon Schools



Little Rock, Arkansas – On Friday morning, two Arkansas schools were recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progresses in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups, according to a news release.

The schools were Springhill Elementary School of the Bryant Public School District in Alexander and Emerson Elementary School of the Emerson-Taylor-Bradley School District in Emerson.

According to a news release, up to 420 schools are nominated each year.

This award affirms and validates the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in striving for and attaining exemplary achievement.

“I applaud all the honorees for the 2022 National Blue Ribbon Schools Award for creating vibrant, welcoming, and affirming school communities where students can learn, grow, reach their potential, and achieve their dreams,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. “As our country continues to recover from the pandemic, we know that our future will only be as strong as the education we provide to all of our children. Blue Ribbon Schools have gone above and beyond to keep students healthy and safe while meeting their academic, social, emotional, and mental health needs. These schools show what is possible to make an enduring, positive difference in students’ lives.”