Connect with us


Smith loses to Rep. Ladyman in the District 32 election



Jonesboro, Arkansas – The Republican primary for the Georgia House of Representatives District 32 seat has been won by incumbent Representative Jack Ladyman (R-Jonesboro).

The Secretary of State’s unofficial findings show that Ladyman prevailed with 947 votes against Smith’s 801 votes.

Ladyman won the Republican primary over Jonesboro-based former legislator Brandt Smith.

Having been elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 2015, Ladyman has held various committee positions, such as Chair of the House Insurance and Commerce Committee and Chair of the House Public Health Committee.

Ladyman announced his intention to run for speaker of the parliament last month. He added that Northeast Arkansas may gain from having someone in that role.

Smith, a Jonesboro resident, was a member of the House for four terms before making an unsuccessful bid to unseat Representative Rick Crawford in 2022.

On November 5, Ladyman will compete against Democratic contender David McAvoy in the general election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *